Is a vegan from Las Vegas ?
undoubtedly vegans living in Las Vegas. The definition of a vegan, though, is
someone who does not use any animal products. Vegans do not eat any animal
products - not flesh, dairy, eggs, or honey.
Going from an omnivore diet to a vegan
one is difficult, although some people have done it. We would recommend
changing gradually to a ovo-lacto vegetarian diet (one that includes eggs and
dairy) before attempting to adopt a vegan diet.
If you are in transition or intend to
stay an ovo-lact vegetarian, consider organic eggs and dairy products, both for
health and animal welfare reasons.
Some steps to becoming vegan:
- replace butter with margarine - it works for almost
- replace honey with real maple syrup in desserts and
- use soy beverage instead of milk on cereal and for
- use egg replacers for baking - sometimes gives a
denser texture, but does not compromise taste
- replace cream cheese with vegan ones - Tofutti Brands Inc. has a replacement for cream
cheese that has a slightly different texture, but tastes almost the same (and
is quite delicious.) It can be used just like cream cheese, including "cheese"
cakes . Yoso Spreadables also has a vegan
replacemennt for cream cheese.
- other vegan cheeses - Bute
Island Foods has a product Sheese that comes in a variety of flavours. Daiya Foods also has a variety of vegan
- - replace ice cream with a frozen dessert. Tofutti Brands Inc. also has an ice cream
replacement that has a wonderfully rich taste (the texture is like soft ice